D1NZ Grand Final 2006

Posted in General, Motorsport at 6:00 pm by Warren Williams

November 19. A day the new Drift King 2006 title was contested to the bitter end. Up for grabs were the honours of being regarded the best of the year, where consistency and reliability played a large factor.

Adam Richards, champion of 2005, in his HKS / Dodson’s S15, was a bit slow to get going, and as a result was never really challenging again for a back to back title.

The real title contenders in 2006, were Drift Corp team mates, Gaz Whiter, and Dan “Fanga” Woolhouse.

The final result saw Justin Rood, beat Gaz Whiter for the round win, and Fanga Dan finished 7th… The points were drawn at 90-all, however upon points countback, Dan took the 2006 title.

The final battle, also made host to the Drift Queen search for 2007. This event was tightly contested also, with an online vote, text vote, and lunchtime demonstration at Pukekohe racetrack. In the evening, the ladies were dressed up to host at the after party in Auckland City. Amy Moulder won the event, and will host some events during 2007.
Look for big things to come in the NZ drifting scene in 2007, including International appearances at Irwindale, and MVPMagazine show on 13th/14th January 2007, in Auckland’s first official carpark drift battle.

 Fanga Dan, Crowd  Rian Herrick  Justin Rood, Round 6 Winner

Fanga Dan, 2006 DK D1NZ Drift Queen 2006 Search & Brooke Howard-Smith Amy Moulder - Drift Queen 2006 Winner

For full coverage of Round 6, Pukekohe, visit www.ignitionmagazine.co.nz


  1. George said,

    January 13, 2007 at 6:37 pm

    Damn those chicks are hot…

  2. George said,

    January 13, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    What now?

  3. Warren Williams said,

    January 13, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    You wait a few days, and then you’ll see a few Fiji photos. 😉

    Done any Need for Speed racing lately?

Leave a Comment